Environmental Benton County Solid Waste District Board

Department Menu

Benton County Solid Waste District Board

The Benton County Solid Waste District is the Board comprised of the County Judge or his/her appointed representative and the Mayors or his/her appointed representative for each city with a certified population of more than 2,000 citizens. The Board must have a minimum of 5 members. The Benton County Judge has one appointment. There is no expiration to the appointment.

Benton County Solid Waste District Board Chair

NamePositionAddressPhone NumberEmail
Barry MoehringBenton County Judge215 E Central Ave Bentonville, AR 72712(479) 271-1083barry.moehring@bentoncountyar.gov

Benton County Solid Waste District Board Vice Chair

NamePositionAddressPhone NumberEmail
Jeff Van SicklerMayor Little Flock1500 Little Flock Drive Rogers, AR 72756(479) 636-2081mayor@cityoflittleflock.com

Benton County Solid Waste District BoardSecretary

NamePositionAddressPhone NumberEmail
Jerrold HaleyRecycling Superintendent Rogers301 West Chestnut St.
Rogers, AR 72756
(479) 621-1185jhaley@rogers.ar.gov

Benton County Solid Waste District Board Members

NamePositionAddressPhone NumberEmail
Doug TappCommunity Dev DirectorP.O. Box 5655
Bella Vista, AR 72714
(479) 268-4980 Ext. 600dtapp@bellavistacityar.com
Kurt MaddoxMayor Gravette604 First Ave. SE
Gravette, AR 72736
(479) 787-5757kmaddox@gravettear.com
Gary WilsonBilling & Collections Manage117 West Central Ave.
Bentonville, AR 72712
(479) 271-3100gwilson@bentonvillear.com
Bill EdwardsMayor CentertonP.O. Box 208
Centerton, AR 72719
(479) 795-2750bedwards@centertonar.us
Chris MooreMayor Lowell216 N. Lincoln St. Lowell, AR 72745(479) 770-2185chris@lowellarkansas.gov
Kevin JohnstonMayor Gentry101 West Main St.
Gentry, AR 72734
(479) 736-2555kevin.johnston@cityofgentry.com
Randall NoblettMayor Cave SpringsP.O. Box 36 Cave Springs, AR 72718(479) 248-1040randall.noblett@cavespringsar.gov
Nathan SeeMayor Pea RidgeP.O. Box 29 Pea Ridge, AR 72751(479) 451-1102nathan.see@cityofpearidge,com
Steve GorszczykPublic Works DirectorP.O. Box 80
Siloam Springs, AR 72761
(479) 238-0935sgorszczyk@siloamsprings.com


Regular Board meetings are scheduled at 1:30 p.m. on the 4th Thursday of the first month of each calendar quarter (January, April, July, October). Meetings are normally held at the District’s Business Office at 5702 Brookside Road, Bentonville, AR 72713

See the full calendar of Benton County meetings here.


Executive Committee: Comprised of the officers of the Board. Confirmation of any Executive Committee action must be obtained by a majority vote of those members present a the next General Board meeting.

Advisory Committee: Duties – advises staff and board on revisions to manuals, rules and regulations, planning, etc.

Grant Committee: Duties – reviews annual recycling grant pre-applications for distribution of state funding.

Personal and Finance Committee: Duties – reviews all financial and personnel issues.

Voting Purpose

A majority of the membership of the board in person or represented by proxy shall constitute a quorum. A majority vote of those members present shall be required for any action of the board.

  1. To collect data, study, and initially evaluate the solid waste management needs of all localities within their districts, to publish their findings as a regional needs assessment.
  2. To evaluate on a continuous basis the solid waste needs of their districts and thereby update the regional needs assessments at least biennially.
  3. To formulate recommendations to all local governments within their districts on solid waste management issues and to formulate plans for providing adequate solid waste management.
  4. To issue or deny certificates of need to any applicant for a solid waste disposal facility permit within their districts with the exception of permits for landfills when a private industry bears the expense of operating and maintaining the landfill solely for the disposal of waste generated by the industry or wastes of a similar kind of character
  5. To petition the Director of the AR Department of Environmental Quality to issue, continue to effect, revoke, modify, or deny any permit for any element of a solid waste management system located within a district based on compliance or noncompliance with the solid waste management plan of the district.
  6. To adopt rules under the AR Administrative Procedure Act, as are reasonably necessary to assure public notice and participation in any findings or ruling of the boards and to administer the duties of the boards.
  7. To establish programs to encourage recycling.
  8. To adopt official seals and alter them at pleasure.
  9. To maintain offices at such places as they may determine.
  10. To sue and be sued in their own names and to plead and be impleaded.
  11. To make and execute contracts and other instruments necessary or convenient in the exercise of the powers and functions of a district, including, but not limited to, entering into contracts and agreements with private entities for provision of services.
  12. To carry out all other powers and duties conferred by this subchapter.
  13. To enter into agreements with another solid waste management district to allow a district or any person within that district to transfer solid waste into another district.

Staff Contact

Wendy Bland
(479) 795-0751

  • Environmental Director

    Teresa Sidwell


    Administration Building

    215 E. Central Ave.
    Bentonville, AR 72712

    8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
    Open through lunch



    Open Burning: It is a violation of State Law to openly burn any item not specifically exempted. Notify the county BEFORE burning: 479-273-5530


    Report Storm Damage, Debris Removal, Community Resources, County Closures