Emergency Management Emergency Committee

Department Menu

Emergency Planning Committee

The mission for the Benton County Local Emergency Planning Committee is to improve the well-being of all county citizens by promoting hazardous materials education. This includes building public and private industry relationships, developing safety programs, and implementing planning strategies on a local and countywide level. The purpose of the Benton County LEPC is to carry out those responsibilities as required by Public Law 99-499, Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), Title III; Executive Order Number 87-2, dated January 2, 1987, as revised by Executive Order Number 90-2; and related regulations.

The Local Emergency Planning Committee is a product of federal legislation that was passed in the wake of the Bhopal disaster in India, where more than 2,000 people died because of an accident involving accidental release of a hazardous chemical. To prevent similar occurrences in our own communities, Congress passed the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA), also known as the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA Title III), in 1986.

EPCRA helps to increase public knowledge and access to information on chemicals at individual facilities, their uses, and releases into the environment. LEPCs are volunteer organizations that consist of emergency responders, industry, government, education, media, and community groups. Their main functions are to provide for joint emergency planning, training, and public outreach. As a result, communities, working with industry, are better able to protect public health and the environment.

Facilities covered by Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) requirements must submit an Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory Form to the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC), and the local fire department annually. The State of Arkansas and Benton County require a Tier II form electronically submitted utilizing Tier2 Submit 2010 software.

The following documents will assist in completing your Tier II submittal:

  • Director of Emergency Management

    Michael Waddle


    Administration Building

    215 E. Central Ave.
    Bentonville, AR 72712

    8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
    Open through lunch





    Report Storm Damage, Debris Removal, Community Resources, County Closures