Frequently Asked Questions
We do not provide any legal forms for deed, mortgages, etc. You must contact an attorney, title company, or if you know how to fill out the forms yourself, many office supply stores carry them.
- if paying in full the day of the sale: a check in the full amount of the bid
- if paying 10% down the day of the sale*:
- a letter of credit from a loaning institution stating an adequate line of credit for the remaining 90% balance **
- a bond to the court for the remaining 90% balance to be paid within a court-designated time period
* All sales not paid in full the day of the sale bear interest at the court-set rate (i.e., 10% per annum).
** This letter needs to be given to the Commissioner prior to the sale.
Yes. However, the Commissioner reserves the right to request a cashier’s check for payment.
The Benton County Circuit Clerk’s Office does not provide forms to file for divorce.
The Office of the Circuit Clerk is prohibited by law from giving legal advice.
Notary information is filed in the Recorder’s Office, located at 215 East Central, room 202. For more information on becoming a Notary Public, see the Arkansas Secretary of State web site.
Passport applications are located in the Recorder’s Office, located at 215 East Central Avenue, room 202.
If you need to know more then click the Passport Information page.
See the fee schedule for information on cost and what to bring when you apply for a passport. You may also wish to visit the Passport Services Office for further details and a copy of the passport application.
If you need a copy of your birth certificate for your passport application and were born in Arkansas, contact the Arkansas Division of Vital Records & Certificates. If you were born in another state, contact the government offices for the county or state in which you were born.
Please arrive by 3:40 pm in order for us to have ample time to process your application.
Marriage licenses are located in the County Clerk’s Office, located at 215 East Central Avenue , room 217.
Call 479-271-1013 for more information.
Birth certificates are kept at the Bureau of Vital Records in Little Rock. For births outside Arkansas, contact the government offices of the state of birth.
POAs are generally prepared by an attorney. Once issued, it needs to be filed in the Recorder’s Office, located at 215 East Central Avenue, room 202.
Websites & phone numbers for the Arkansas State court system as well as Benton County District Courts can be found in the District Court Directory.
Contact the appropriate District Court for misdemeanors. This information may be found on the issued ticket.
Note: Circuit Court is for felony cases or appeals that have been sent up from District court.
According to state law, documents failing to meet requirements may be denied. The Clerk’s Office returns the document with an explanation attached. If the recorder waives the requirements of §14-15-402-(b) (1) for good cause, an additional fee of $25.00 will be required.
Please note the Office of the Circuit Clerk is prohibited by law from giving legal advice does not provide materialman’s lien forms nor instruct on document preparation.
To record the materialman’s lien bring the following to the Recorder’s Office 215 East Central Avenue , room 202):
- The prepared and notarized document
- Proof the person upon whom you are placing the lien has been notified (i.e., certified mail receipt)
- Recording fee of $15.00 for the first page and $5.00 for each additional page
The office is open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and does not close for lunch. However, for operational efficiency recording ends at 4:15 p.m.; remaining records will be processed on the following business day.
Only a court order signed by the judge can modify terms. The Office of the Circuit Clerk is prohibited by law from giving legal advice.
The Benton County Circuit Clerk’s office (including the Juvenile Division) only accepts cash and cash equivalents at this time:
Cash is accepted in exact change only.
Checks are accepted. Please make checks payable to Benton County Circuit Clerk or BCCC (DL# and phone# are required).
American Express not accepted at this time
A party to the case should contact the office to set it up. Forms are available in advance if needed.
No, the Circuit Clerk’s office is unable to assist. Additional information on assistance is available through the Child Support Clearinghouse at (866) 428-8382 and the local Child Support Enforcement Office at 479-770-5443.
No, all address changes must be in person or in writing and faxed to the Child Support Office at 479-271-5719. We are unable to do this by phone for security reasons.
No, access to Juvenile Division files is strictly confidential. Only the attorney for record and authorized staff can look at the file, unless otherwise ordered by the judge.
Download the required Arkansas Circuit Court Civil or Domestic Relations cover sheets or go to the Arkansas Judiciary web site. See also: child support confidential information sheet.
The Circuit Clerks’ office files the judgments for record, but if you have questions regarding your payment, you need to contact the Department of Finance at www.state.ar.us/dfa or 501-682-5000.
The Circuit Clerks’ office files the liens for record, but if you have questions regarding your payment, you need to contact the IRS at www.irs.gov or (800) 829-1040. Their local office is located at 35 E. Mountain St, Fayetteville, AR 72701-5315 or 479-442-3948.