Department History

In 1988 voters approved an ordinance to implement 9-1-1 emergency telephone service within Benton County to be funded by a charge of up to five percent of the basic telephone tariff approved by the Arkansas Public Service Commission and to be administered by an Administrative Board. County Ordinance 88-5 was approved creating a 9-1-1 Administrative Board consisting of five members with staggered five year terms. Board members are:
  • 1 full time fire chief or deputy chief
  • 1 full time police chief, chief deputy, sheriff, or chief deputy sheriff
  • 3 members at large

The 9-1-1 Administrative Board is authorized to administer and manage 9-1-1 services including:
  • Expend funds generated by the 9-1-1 service charge
  • Develop a countywide addressing and mapping system
  • Establish standard operating procedures to be used at Public Safety Answering Points (PSAP)
  • Develop training programs and procedures for dispatchers
  • Recommend staffing requirements for PSAPs
  • Report annually to the Quorum Court
  • Other actions and business as necessary to carry out the purposes of the ordinance
Quarterly 9-1-1 Board Meetings are open to the public and held in the county Administration Building, with notice posted in the local newspaper with the date and time approximately one week before each meeting. To obtain a copy of the minutes from previous board meetings or to request the next board meeting date and time, please send your request to the 9-1-1 Administration office at or 215 E Central Ave #12, Bentonville, AR 72712.
The Benton County 9-1-1 Administration office is located on the 3rd floor of the Administration Building. The office works with the public and emergency service providers to ensure a smooth operation of communication. The 9-1-1 Administration office is the addressing authority for Benton County.