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Stefanie Laputz
From: Kevin HarrisonSent: Thursday, March 31, 2016 9:42 AMTo: Stefanie LaputzSubject: Fwd: Arkansas Works Special/Fiscal Session

 
 
Sent from my iPhone 
 
Begin forwarded message: 

From: Robert Clinard <Robert.Clinard@bentoncountyar.gov> 
Date: March 30, 2016 at 3:20:28 PM CDT 
To: Kevin Harrison <Kevin.Harrison@bentoncountyar.gov> 
Subject: FW: Arkansas Works Special/Fiscal Session 
Kevin 
FYI  
It has come to my attention that possibly two of our Benton County State Senators may not be on board 
with the Arkansas Works program. Read below how that ”may” affect our county turn back funds in 
addition to losing potentially $250M in federal Transportation Cost Sharing funds for the state. It takes 
75% approval of state senators (27 of 35) and 9 senators are possibly no votes.  
Judge C 
  
From: all-owner@ARKANSASCOUNTYJUDGES.NET [mailto:all-owner@ARKANSASCOUNTYJUDGES.NET] On Behalf Of Chris Villines Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2016 11:23 AM To: County Judges (all@arkansascountyjudges.net) <all@arkansascountyjudges.net> Subject: Arkansas Works Special/Fiscal Session Importance: High   
Judges: 
Last week the CJAA Executive Board met and discussed Governor Hutchinson’s proposed Arkansas 
Works program, which would be a continuation of Medicaid expansion with modifications acceptable to 
the federal government.  The executive board voted to support Governor Hutchinson’s Arkansas Works 
program and to pass this on in letter form to the Governor. 
This program, much like highway funding, is at the simplest level a federal matching program. By 
embarking on the private option expansion our state has been able to save enough money through this 
matching to offer tax cuts over the past two sessions. 
County turnback, however, has been largely unaffected except for a 1% reduction in the 2015 regular 
session. 
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It is very important for you to note that should Arkansas Works not be adopted there will be a hole in 
the Arkansas budget of over $110 million.  As a result, there is a very real potential that our counties 
could lose anywhere from 5% of your current turnback funds to possibly losing them in their entirety. 
THIS WOULD BE CRIPPLING TO SOME OF OUR COUNTIES.  There are strong indications that the 5-6% 
across the board cut would be the state’s reaction to replace the lost matching funds, others have said 
the city and county turnback money would be eliminated in entirety. 
First of all, we all realize that Medicaid expansion can be a lightning rod subject. But this loss of revenue 
for your counties would equate to very real loss for our constituents. In order to alert the legislature to 
the potential negative impact we are asking each of you to look at the following numbers, which 
represent your net distribution of state turnback funds, and analyze the following: 
What would you have to do in your county if you lost 5% of this annual flow of money beginning in July 
of 2016?  Where would you likely cut? 
What if you lost the annual flow of money entirely?  What cuts would likely be made then? 
In discussing this with one of your counterparts the other day, he mentioned those services that do not 
fall under ACA 14-14-802 would obviously be the first to go, things like veteran’s service officers or 
cooperative extension monies would likely be cut immediately.  Others have indicated public safety 
might suffer the most. 
First of all, please be expecting a carbon copy of the letter sent from the CJAA executive board to the 
Governor and Legislators – this should be coming out later today.  And secondly, PLEASE SEND US YOUR 
EXPECTED RESPONSE TO 5% or 100% CUTS TO ME AT cvillines@arcounties.org so we can put this 
information together and educate our state officials to the expected ramifications of these cuts. In 
addition, your local hospital could be in a pinch if this should not pass. If you have a county owned 
hospital – information on their response would be useful as well. 
If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to call me at 501-249-2308 or Mark Whitmore at 501-
372-7550. 
  
  

COUNTY 2016 
   NAME DISTRIBUTION 
Arkansas County $        222,710.24  
Ashley County $        201,851.38  
Baxter County $        211,926.37  
Benton County $        203,863.89  
Boone County $        202,828.11  
Bradley County $        191,681.64  
Calhoun County $        182,224.57  
Carroll County $        209,073.38  
Chicot County $        188,951.86  
Clark County $        198,475.88  
Clay County $        190,323.48  
Cleburne County $        206,121.95  
Cleveland County $        187,881.60  
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Columbia County $        180,347.90  
Conway County $        186,694.06  
Craighead County $        227,003.32  
Crawford County $        222,556.10  
Crittenden County $        127,871.14  
Cross County $        195,223.93  
Dallas County $        183,698.97  
Desha County $        186,240.67  
Drew County $        205,834.84  
Faulkner County $        259,756.75  
Franklin County $        191,554.53  
Fulton County $        194,100.35  
Garland County $        117,546.96  
Grant County $        185,617.02  
Greene County $        216,586.57  
Hempstead County $        197,912.97  
Hot Spring County $        202,458.43  
Howard County $        188,731.98  
Independence County $        217,250.62  
Izard County $        205,571.30  
Jackson County $        194,432.35  
Jefferson County $          70,094.19  
Johnson County $        205,915.32  
Lafayette County $        188,579.16  
Lawrence County $        196,169.30  
Lee County $        185,236.40  
Lincoln County $        190,690.38  
Little River County $        186,995.12  
Logan County $        193,179.65  
Lonoke County $        240,184.51  
Madison County $        185,789.24  
Marion County $        193,613.30  
Miller County $        170,465.47  
Mississippi County $        153,040.09  
Monroe County $        180,604.58  
Montgomery County $        180,998.46  
Nevada County $        186,025.89  
Newton County $        195,938.82  
Ouachita County $        179,387.73  
Perry County $        195,766.08  
Phillips County $        193,329.30  
Pike County $        191,936.42  
Poinsett County $        197,556.15  
Polk County $        166,980.92  
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Pope County $        238,681.08  
Prairie County $        183,555.32  
Randolph County $        198,589.98  
Saline County $        126,868.91  
Scott County $        193,034.12  
Searcy County $        198,340.14  
Sebastian County $        107,050.56  
Sevier County $        193,709.16  
Sharp County $        198,444.52  
St. Francis County $        201,830.42  
Stone County $        201,984.17  
Union County $        152,908.55  
Van Buren County $        188,617.86  
Washington County $        278,902.62  
White County $        223,064.25  
Woodruff County $        183,846.32  
Yell County $        191,891.65  
TOTAL $  13,688,994.72  
  $  13,688,994.72  

  
  
  


